Filipino Genocidio

an army of lesser mortals
descended upon the crimson arc
ready for battle
ready to die
ready
to

 

I…
am Private Liit
of the 1040th infantry
granted amnesty on this
year of our Lord
0001 AD.

 

We
stand firm with the militia
no more shall we take refuge
in your fantasies and lies,
we, of the shackled ones,
come armed,
come what
may!

 

He
burned my hand
when I told him I wanted out
cigarettes smoked my hand
don’t burn my hand
don’t burn me
don’t!

 

Doctor
the patient was admitted
and he now admits that
he has nothing.
admittedly, there’s
nothing
we can
do.

 

General
our men are being
slaughtered!
calm down, calm down,
we have plenty to spare.
now sit back and relax
for we shall
win this
yet.

 

Hey
Joe, do you want to spin
my brain, my body, my soul
do you want me to swallow my pride
and let the world know that I’m your
love
slave?

 

Stop!
in the name of the law
gaddemet stop,
but I did stop,
I told the reporters,
as I bled from my stomach.
tell my wife I’ll be late for dinner.

—-

Filipino Genocidio is a poem I cannot remember writing, much less why I wrote it in the first place.

Leave a Reply

